Stress, I don’t need no stinkin stress!!

I haven’t walked in a few days. I normally take the weekend off, or at least Sunday. I was sick on Thursday and Friday, so it has been a while. I see how easy it can be to fall back into old routines. I love my morning walk, I really do. I haven’t thought about it as exercise at all. I get a chance to clear my head, to collect my thoughts, to pray and to just listen to some music. Today I was listening in particular to Superchick. This is a girl band, but I have always loved their sound. Check out this video. The song started me on my walk today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0BwgoC-TJQ

Yesterday I think my bride saw the stress building in me. I realized that I was getting lazier as the past few days went on, I was starting to disconnect. This is what I do when I leave for a trip. The few days beforehand I start to stress, not because of the travelling itself, but how my family will do without me at home, will they be safe. Lot’s of worrying about nothing really. It is easy for me to trust in God’s providence and protection in my own life, but why so hard for me to trust Him in the lives of those I love? Anyway, so I was starting to disconnect and just want to nap on the couch. I didn’t really have an appetite, but still wanted to snack. All the old bad habits didn’t take long to come back.
So Jodi says, hey, let’s go for a walk on the boardwalk. I really didn’t want too. I wanted to lay on the couch and watch TV. But maybe she wasn’t doing it just for me, maybe she actually loves me and wants to hang out with just me for a little while before I take off for a week and a half. And so we walked. We didn’t sprint or speed walk, we strolled actually, but it was perfect. The ocean gave us a wee breeze to cool us off, we were able to chat without any interuptions. It was great. We even got an ice cream at the dairy bar, whick was really good. We didn’t go for half the night, just a short walk, maybe an hour, and spent time together. I am very grateful that my children are at an age where we are able to do this on occassion, without having to get a babysitter anymore (although my oldest, Patrick, likes to remind me that if we leave the house for personal reasons, like a date, and not family reasons, like a doctor’s appointment, that he expects payment. 5 Fun dips..hahahaha)
I woke up this morning, ready to get back into it. I went for a 5 mile walk, did a little grocery shopping and got my list ready for things that need to be done before I go. So no more wallowing in my own stress and self pity, time to get things done.
Pax,
Brady

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

