Woohoooo!

Thursday was weigh in day. As my good buddy just mentioned, I was down 5 lbs. That’s my biggest loss since the first week. I think it came at a pretty important time too. I have been a little stressed at the slow progress. It did make me think though of my wheat addiction and its connection with weight loss.
Let me take you on a mental (and spiritual) journey of insight;
I’ve mentioned before and will likely mention many more times that I love bread. It really is only bread, not wheat in many of its other forms. I love a good loaf of warm homemade bread and I dare you to find me someone that doesn’t share that sentiment. Mmmm, warm bread with butter and homemade jam, AWESOME! Cutting back on wheat or eliminating wheat means, elimintating bread. I am not a huge pasta eater, I don’t necessarily eat very much cereal. But bread, biscuits, buns, yeah I like those. I am extremly happy about my 5 lb loss, and I will admit that it came off because of my lack of bread, but, BUT, I have only been eating my bread in the evening, and only 2 slices. So perhaps my weight loss is also because I have not been eating in the evening, and because those calories have been cut, not necessarily because of WHAT I have removed. I still am convinced (call it addiction rationalization) that wheat, (bread) is still important in my diet.
Let’s go to the spiritual arena for a minute. (but still a little rational as well)
I have struggled to take this 24 lbs off. I really mean struggled. And when I have had a week of a 1 lb gain or even a 1/2 lb gain, it bothers me. Why? Because of the struggle to lose these few pounds. But this struggle is what makes this real for me. When I lose 5 lbs in a week, possibly because of a lack of wheat, or I lose 20 lbs during lent when I give up coke and other things, its temporary. The weight comes back. But when i make a conserted effort to change the way I think about eating, to stop going to fast food joints 3 days a week, to cut back on things that are not the best for me, and I struggle to lose the 24 lbs. Then each of those pounds are a victory, that hopefully will not be seen again.
This is how my relationship with God is, a struggle. Not between Him and I, but how He answers my prayers. You see I am very selfish, I want things. Fr. Floyd was talking about this in his homily yesterday and it made me smile because it was exactly what I was thinking about this week. I Want things. And I want God to answer my prayers the way I want Him to answer them. Please Lord find me a new vehicle (TODAY) not in Your time, but mine. Please Heavenly Father, help me drop 10 lbs (THIS WEEK) so that Jason loses and I win the weigh off. Please, oh Merciful God, let me win the lottery, just once, and it doesn’t even have to be the millions, but just a few hundred thousand, I swear I will share it with all my friends and family. These are the prayers of a desperate and selfish man. Don’t get me wrong, I fully trust that our Lord provides for me and my family. I wouldn’t have made it this long if I didn’t accept that. He does answer all those pathetic prayers. He really does. Sometimes in the way I want Him too, but rarely WHEN I want Him too.
So it is with my journey to a healthier life. If it happened WHEN I wanted it too, there would be no struggle, and I would be bound to fail at it again and end up where I started or worse. So from now on, I will not growl and grumble over each 1/2 lb loss, or even 1/2 lb gains. I know this is a permanent change and it will happen over a long time, and I will be blessed when I reach that goal weight, just like I am blessed in so many other ways.
Hope this wasn’t too jumbled.
P.S.
Please say a wee prayer today for my oldest, Patrick, who enter the workforce. Started his first job at Lobster on the Wharf. He is growing up way to fast and I don’t think I am quite prepared for that yet. Peace to you today Pats, show em what you are made of, Love You!
Pax,
Brady

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Woohoooo!

  1. Jason Pitre says:

    Love this post Brady….truly, abandon to His will, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

