Canada Day weekend Family Fun/Diverscity (and Eating!)

photo (3)

Eating this weekend has been somewhat reasonable (although I had one(1) fast food incident Friday night). Sunday is most likely my favourite day of the week.  After some eggs/steak for breakfast, and getting some kids dressed/cleaned up, we loaded our 12 passenger van lovingly name “mini” and headed out to St. Dunstan’s for Sunday Mass/Church.  After Mass, I usually get a chance to “hang out” and chat with an older gentlemen in our parish (Tom Garvy).  Tom is such a great example to me of consistent trust in Christ and joyfulness, no matter the situation or adversity.

I am the sunday brunch chef in the Pitre Family…and as usuall, I chop up something yummy. Today I grilled some sausages, had some OJ and made some Omelets (Egg/mushrooms/red peppers/red onions/tomatoe/grated Cheese). Toasted up a few bagels (I had some gluetten free bread) and presto…Brunch.After cleaning up, and a bit of “veggin'” out, we hit the road for the Newcommer’s Association of PEI event “DiverseCity” on Victoria Row/Charlottetown.  I was truly impressed.  The exhibitors and vendors were excellent.  My kids truly enjoyed the various cultures being represented. In the attached photo, see my sweet 5 year old daughter in a full Kimono at the Japanese exhibit. For dinner, we ate Korean in honour of my sister/kids Aunt Jenny who lives in Soul/South Korea (we are really looking forward to seeing Jenny in a few weeks when she arrives in PEI for her summer holiday.

photo (2)

I’ll end this blog post by wishing my father a very happy birthday.  I am so lucky to have this gentle man as my Dad, he taught me as a boy living in rural PEI to be kind, to work hard, to enjoy a good joke, to have faith in Christ and enjoy early mornings (and much more).  I love you dad, and all the Pitre’s here in Lake Verde wish you a happy 69th birthday!

Time to get a few kiddos to bed…..late night tomorrow for sure with the Canada day fireworks at Victoria Park.

Jason

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

