More Prayers Needed!

Sorry it has been a few days since my last blog.  I did not mean to take the weekend off, it just got crazy, you know how it is!!

Before I begin about myself again (man, pride is hard to work on, haha) I wanted to ask that you all say a prayer for a friend of mine, Dan, who passed away this past Friday.  His family will be grieving terribly as this was an unexpected death.

This weekend was not great, I must say.  Jay and I never made it to a weigh in this week.  I did however take a peek and i was only down 1/2 lb.  To say I was a little discouraged would not describe it.  After having spent the last 2 weeks killing my feet with blisters, walking between 8-10km a day, and still eating well, I expected to drop much more than that.  Some people (my bride included) have tried to cheer me up by telling me that I am building up muscles, and muscle is heavier.  It all sounds kind of like a cop out to me.  I do know that muscle burns calories quicker, so even if muscles was heavier, it should all balance out because it would be burning quicker too.  Anyway, I am over my discouragement.  Today I walked just short of 7 miles, or 11 km.  My feet are killing me and I did it in the middle of the day instead of the morning.  I am hurtin right now, but it will pay off in the end.  That one walk burnt 1200 calories.  That is almost a whole days food intake.  not bad.

I have to say, maybe it was the discouragement or the sun shining, but I did not have a great weekend in terms of food.  I made homemade pulled pork pizza’s one day (on Naan bread, so not too bad) but I topped it off with some strawberry shortcake.  That was after an afternoon of fun with my boys at the park, follwed by an ice cream cone at the dairy bar.  I know that it is not too bad to have a treat now and then, and I really don’t cheat very often, but twice in one day was not good.

Also, I know I am going to have a tough couple of weeks coming up.  Yesterday was the beginning of “New Potato” season.  If you have not had new potatos from PEI during this wonderous season, you really haven’t eaten a potato.  I can honestly say that during new potato season is the only time I could consider being a vegetarian.  I could eat these yummy morsels at every meal ( and I do plan on eating lots)  the problem being, they are best with simply a lot of real butter and salt and pepper, so although potatoes themselves might not be bad, the butter on them does not help.  It also does not help that I could easily finish off a 5 lb bag for dinner myself. 

Self control….Self control…I know I have it somewhere.  I’ll see how the week goes and I’ll let you know if I need to increase the walking to simply burn off the potatoes. HAHA

Pax,

Brady

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Prayers Needed!

  1. Pam says:

    Oh Brady! You are really do well. Don’t get discouraged. You really ought to look into interval training or high intensity workouts. It doesn’t have to be 1 full hour of crazy burpees – but do some tabatas (20 seconds as hard as you can of 1 exercise like burpees, jump squat, box jumps, push ups, split lunge jumps or something like that or just sprint and then 10 seconds rest) for 4 minutes…. and then go for your walk. Work up from 4 minutes to 8 minutes to 12, to 16, etc…. It really increases your heart rate and then gives you that calorie burn all day. It’s very efficient. Meh – what do I know? Not much. I just read a lot. Anyway – I like the efficiency of tabata and all you really need is a clock or a stopwatch.

    • harrymoobs says:

      Thanks Pam, I’ve actually looked into it a bit already. Right now I’m just trying to build endurance, then hope to add some things in a couple of weeks! Thanks for the advice though, I’ll take all I can get

  2. Linda says:

    I’m attaching a link from a paleo site (I know, I know – you’re not going there!) but there’s some good practical tips – # 3 and #6 are often issues for any diet.

    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/9-more-reasons-youre-not-losing-weight/#axzz2XBDjbpNb

Leave a Reply

