Wasting Time

I want to begin by sharing a prayer that a coworker of mine shared this morning in a conference call.

O glorious St. Joseph, model of all who are devoted to labor, obtain for me the grace to work in the spirit of penance in expiation of my many sins; to work conscientiously by placing love of duty above my inclinations; to gratefully and joyously deem it an honor to employ and to develop by labor the gifts I have received from God, to work methodically, peacefully, and in moderation and patience, without ever shrinking from it through weariness or difficulty to work; above all, with purity of intention and unselfishness, having unceasingly before my eyes death and the account I have to render of time lost, talents unused, good not done, and vain complacency in success, so baneful to the work of God. All for Jesus, all for Mary, all to imitate thee, O patriarch St. Joseph! This shall be my motto for life and eternity. Amen.

I think the reason I share this with you is not simply because this prayer really struck me this morning, but because of why it struck me. How much has God given me and I’ve wasted it? Not only my talents, but my time as well. I think in conjunction with the process I’m going through right now, how much time I wasted overindulging in crap food and then being completely lazy. I’m a lazy person, I really am. I love sitting, watching TV, or reading. Getting up and doing anything is a “hassle”. That is what I am learning most about myself. That I need to work at being what I’m called to be, I keep asking for blessings from Our Heavenly Father, but I need to do some of the work too.
So this new weeks goal: 3lbs lost, walking 5 days a week (hoping my very sore feet heal this weekend) and getting 50 push ups in a day. If there is time left over, I’m going to spend it dotting on my pregnant bride, and chilling with my chillins!
Oh yeah, saw “Man of Steal” last night and really liked it.
Pax,
Brady

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wasting Time

Leave a Reply

